Skip to content
Josiah McElheny, The Double Centered World, 2023

Josiah McElheny, The Double Centered World, 2023. Patinated steel, acrylic paint on board, hand formed and polished solid glass in the form of a triaxial ellipsoid. 57 x 40 x 11 in / 144.8 x 101.6 x 27.9 cm

Join us at 52 Walker for a mini-symposium led by author Lynne Tillman and astrophysicist David Weinberg on December 2, 2023 from 2-4 PM. This event is organized in conjunction with Josiah McElheny's recent solo exhibition, Geometries for an Imagined Futureon view at 52 Walker through December 22, 2023.

This event is free and open to the public. No prior registration is required.

David Weinberg is a Distinguished University Professor and Chair of the Department of Astronomy at the Ohio State University in Columbus, Ohio. He is also a member of Ohio State's Center for Cosmology and AstroParticle Physics. Weinberg studies the largescale structure of the universe, dark energy and dark matter, the formation and evolution of galaxies and quasars, and the intergalactic medium (IGM). His academic honors include the OSU Distinguished Scholar Award (2006), the Henry L. Cox Professorship (2013-2018), the Berkeley Prize of the American Astronomical Society (2015), the Dannie Heineman Prize for Astrophysics of the American Astronomical Society and the American Institute of Physics (2021), and election to the National Academy of Sciences (2023). Since 2004, David Weinberg has collaborated with Josiah McElheny on the design of cosmologically inspired sculptures.

Lynne Tillman is a novelist, short story writer, and cultural critic. Her novels are Haunted Houses; Motion Sickness; Cast in Doubt; No Lease on Life, a finalist for the National Book Critics Circle Award; American Genius, A Comedy, and Men and Apparitions. Her nonfiction books include The Velvet Years: Warhol’s Factory 1965–1967, with photographs by Stephen Shore; Bookstore: The Life and Times of Jeannette Watson and Books & Co.; and What Would Lynne Tillman Do?, a finalist for the National Book Critics Circle Award in Criticism. She is the recipient of a Guggenheim Foundation Fellowship and The Andy Warhol Foundation Arts Writers Grant. 

Back To Top